So this past Sunday (the 28th) I was attending so many farewells, and it was getting chaotic! But after I attended Harrison's farewell, I was a bit hungry so I drove home fast, and then got a snack to sustain me for the next couple of hours. I got back in my car, and then started driving to the next farewell. I was going an unusual way because there was all the construction in Alpine. I then saw a cop at the end of the road so I turned down another street so I didn't have to drive past the cop (don't ask me why). I then approached a 4 way stop, and didn't see anyone so I started to drive through it, and BAM. The front of my car was nailed and pushed a good 15ft up the road and spun around to the other side. I started screaming, and hyperventilating, and didn't know what to do. My head banged against the handle above my window, and my whole body smacked against my door. I just remember looking up and seeing my windshield cracked across the whole thing. I then opened my door and dangled my bruised legs out of the car. The driver, from the truck that hit me, ran out of her car (she was like 19) and ran over to me and said, "Are you OK?!?!" and said yea I was fine, but then said "Did you not see the stop sign?!" I was feeling so much anger towards this stranger, mainly for making me miss my friend's farewell, and she hit my baby Walter! She then replied, "No! I'm not from around here!" Her truck was like 7 ft in front of my car, and then I noticed something. Her truck started rolling backwards, she didn't park her car! I then yelled, "Go park your car!!" I wasn't going to get hit a second time. When the police showed up we filled out the reports, but when she talked to the police man she lied and said she had stopped at the stop sign, even after telling me she didn't see it. We had 2 witnesses thankfully (kids from my school on their way to the same farewell), and even we had stopped at the same time, it would still be her fault because I would have the right of way. We then towed the cars away (mine was totaled) and then we had to wait for ever to get my insurance! My parents had to leave sacrament meeting and get the Hammond's to watch the kids for them. My mom then borrowed Austin's car to come see what was going on. Everyone in church apparently was really confused, and lots of people were asking what had happened. I'm so grateful that she didn't hit me 2 seconds later, or I would have been in critical condition. We went to the hospital later that night to check for a concussion, and they said it doesn't seem like I do, but if my head is still hurting later in the week to come back. I keep having nightmares of the car crash (and I know that is silly) but it was the most terrifying thing that has ever happened to me! I'm just so incredibly grateful that it wasn't anything worse than what it was, I'm still in some pain, but I will be ok, and I'm grateful for everyone that helped me in that awful situation.

No comments:
Post a Comment